Blame It On Jamie Lee Curtis

What a beautiful post. Conformity is such a big deal, as is color and melanin, as is hair. It’s interesting, I’d never really drawn the parallel between what many women (and some men) do as far as coloring their hair to fight ageist standards and the relaxing process, but I guess it’s really the same thing. Chemicals to change the natural look of hair in order to fit some standard so as not to “stand out” negatively in American society.

Silver in the Barn

Why I would imagine that the color of my hair would hold an iota of interest to you, dear reader, cannot be explained other than to say I learned the hard way that it’s a subject that can ignite opinion, solicited or not.

11

I was serving as parliamentarian for a civic organization a few years ago and during a meeting, one of the members, henna-tressed, suddenly blurted out “What are you doing to your hair?”

“Nothing, really. I’ve just decided to stop coloring it.”

Stunned silence. Or as the hipsters say, “Crickets.” Just like that I was able to stop the proceedings of our monthly meeting. What power.

The president of the group, a woman in her mid-70s with expensively highlighted blonde hair, then offered this little gem: “But Barbara! You’re much too young to go gray!”

Tell that to the melanin levels in my hair follicles, please.

And as I looked out at the women around…

View original post 808 more words

Leave a Reply

